G-7 central banks agree CBDC principles

BIS joins with leading central banks to set out principles for deciding to issue CBDCs

Digital travel

Seven central banks, including all those of the G-7 economies, and the Bank for International Settlements (BIS) have agreed a set of common principles around the possible creation of a central bank-issued digital currency (CBDC).

The Federal Reserve, European Central Bank, the Bank of Japan, the Bank of England, Bank of Canada, Sveriges Riksbank and the Swiss National Bank all are all members of the group.

Published today (October 9), the report says central banks should only issue a digital

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact info@centralbanking.com or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.centralbanking.com/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact info@centralbanking.com to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

Register for Central Banking

All fields are mandatory unless otherwise highlighted

This address will be used to create your account

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account