People: China appoints new monetary policy committee


China: The Chinese government unveiled the new structure of the monetary policy committee at the People’s Bank of China (PBoC) on June 15.

The PBoC’s governor, Yi Gang, replaces his predecessor Zhou Xiaochuan as chairman of the institution’s monetary policy committee. Yi became governor in March, as Zhou finished a spell of more than 15 years at the helm of the central bank.

Additionally, three new academic members join the panel: Liu Shijin, vice-chairman of the China development research

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: