Central Banking Awards 2016 open for entry

Chairman of Central Banking editorial advisory board invites central banks and other stakeholders in the community to submit for this year’s awards
Geoff Bascand, deputy governor of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand, says a few words after receiving the award for Central Bank of the Year

Entry for the Central Banking Awards 2016 is now open, with central banks and other stakeholders in the community invited to submit for 18 awards designed to honour their achievements in the past year.

Last year's awards saw Raghuram Rajan scoop Governor of the Year and the Reserve Bank of New Zealand (RBNZ) pick up Central Bank of the Year, amid fierce competition from across the globe.

Commenting on the award, RBNZ governor Graeme Wheeler noted: "It is an honour for the Reserve Bank to receive this award and humbling to receive such recognition among peers."

There are two types of awards, central bank and market practitioner, a full list of which can be found at the bottom of this article. The entry deadline for the awards is September 7, and the criteria for submissions are available on the dedicated awards website.

One of the most prestigious awards, the Lifetime Achievement Award, previously handed to and collected by Paul Volcker (2014) and Jacques de Larosière (2015), will again recognise an "exceptional leader" who has "left an indelible mark on the central banking community".

Other winners last year include the South African Reserve Bank (Reserve Manager of the Year), the Czech National Bank (Transparency Award), Bank of Canada (Website of the Year) and Claudio Borio (Economics in Central Banking).

"This award recognises the work done by staff at the bank that ensures its operations are at the forefront of reserves management practices," Lesetja Kganyago, the South African Reserve Bank governor, said.

This year, there are three new awards up for grabs, including Initiative of the Year, which will be given "or a specific central bank initiative or policy that connects with new stakeholders through innovative delivery and execution".

This is deliberately broad, as central banks continue to find innovative ways to reach new audiences, no matter how big or small. "Particular attention will be given to novel, impactful launches and the feedback received from the community," the description states.

The awards will be judged by members of the advisory board and editorial team of Central Banking later this year, while a dinner to celebrate the winners will be held early 2016.

Full list of awards

Central Bank of the Year
Governor of the Year
Lifetime Achievement Award
Reserve Manager of the Year
Economics in Central Banking
Website of the Year
Sovereign Investor of the Year
Initiative of the Year
Foreign Exchange Dealer of the Year
Asset Manager of the Year
Risk Management Services Provider of the Year
Global Custodian of the Year
Consultancy and Advisory Services Provider of the Year
Payments Provider of the Year
Technology Provider of the Year
Banknote and Currency Services of the Year
Markets Infrastructure Provider of the Year

  • LinkedIn  
  • Save this article
  • Print this page  

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: