The Central Banking Awards 2022 virtual ceremony

View the trophy presentations and acceptance comments from the winners of the ninth annual Central Banking Awards

Central Banking was joined by representatives of the winners of the Central Banking Awards 2022 to celebrate their achievements during a virtual awards presentation published today.

The annual Central Banking Awards, now in their ninth year, recognise excellence in the central banking community. The formal presentation of the awards to governors and business line heads of central banks, as well as their partners and service providers, was made by Christopher Jeffery, editor-in-chief and chairman of the Central Banking Awards Committee.

The Central Banking Awards trophies, made of sustainable materials, were presented at a virtual ceremony that marks the first day of Central Banking’s second annual flagship Summer Meetings, which include sections on governance, monetary policy, financial stability, reserve management, fintech, currency and payments, and climate. The meetings are virtual between June 13 and 15, and via in-person Masterclasses held in Brussels on June 16.

The Summer Meetings are part of an initiative to increase and upgrade Central Banking’s services to the community, following the launch of the Central Banking Institute and its Benchmarking Service in late 2020.

Many award-winners are participating in the Central Banking Summer Meetings.

See below for the timings to view individual award categories and acceptance comments from luminaries that include Mario Marcel, Lee Ju-yeol, Jiří Rusnok, Benjamin E Diokno, Richard Byles, Timothy Antoine, Roberto Campos Neto, Majozi V Sithole, Peter Nicholl, Siritida Panomwon Na Ayudhya, Sopnendu Mohanty and Edouard Fernandez-Bollo.

  • 02:34 Advisory Services: Kroll
  • 03:54 Risk Manager: Bank of Portugal
  • 05:56 Risk Management Technology: BlackRock’s Aladdin Risk
  • 07:31 Asset Manager: BNP Paribas Asset Management
  • 09:30 Reserve Manager: Central Bank of the UAE
  • 10:20 Global Markets: HSBC
  • 11:49 Green Initiative – Regulatory: Banque de France and ACPR
  • 14:29 ESG Portfolio Services: Moody’s
  • 15:52 Green Initiative – Operational: Eastern Caribbean Central Bank
  • 17:47 Specialised Lending Initiative: BNP Paribas Securities Services
  • 19:31 Collateral Management Services: Vermeg
  • 21:10 Financial Stability Initiative: ECB’s SSMnet
  • 23:39 Technology Services – Regulatory: Regnology
  • 25:01 Economics in Central Banking: Wenxin Du
  • 26:43 Technology Services: SAP
  • 28:20 Outstanding Contribution for Capacity Building: Peter Nicholl
  • 30:31 Currency Initiative: Central Bank of the Philippines’ Cash Service Alliance
  • 32:43 Currency Services: De La Rue
  • 34:33 Currency Manager: Central Bank of Costa Rica
  • 35:50 Payment Services: CMA
  • 37:20 Payments and Market Infrastructure Development – Retail: Central Bank of Brazil’s Pix
  • 39:18 Financial Market Infrastructure Services: SIA
  • 40:55 Payments and Market Infrastructure Development – Wholesale: Reserve Bank of India
  • 42:41 Initiative: Bank of Thailand and MAS’s PromptPay-PayNow link
  • 46:22 Website: Central Bank of Eswatini
  • 48:25 Communications Initiative: Bank of Jamaica
  • 50:08 Transparency: Czech National Bank
  • 52:10 Central Bank of the Year: Bank of Korea
  • 54:01 Governor of the Year: Mario Marcel
  • 58:43 Lifetime Achievement: Stanley Fischer

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account