ECB approves collateral eligibility criteria of seven Eurosystem central banks

ECB governing council

The European Central Bank (ECB) on February 9 approved proposals from seven Eurosystem central banks to loosen further the criteria for eligible collateral in credit operations.

The Central Bank of Ireland, Bank of Spain, Banque de France, Bank of Italy, Central Bank of Cyprus, National Bank of Austria and the Bank of Portugal are due to release details on the specific national criteria and risk control measures for the temporary acceptance of additional credit claims as collateral.

The Bank of

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

Register for Central Banking

All fields are mandatory unless otherwise highlighted

This address will be used to create your account

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account