Senate confirms two out of three Fed directors


After a last-minute deal between the two parties in the US Senate, two candidates for the Federal Reserve Board, Janet Yellen and Ellen Raskin, were confirmed on Thursday. The third, MIT economist Peter Diamond, did not receive a confirmation vote. Yellen will also take over as vice-chair of the Fed.

Yellen is president of the San Francisco Federal Reserve Bank, and was nominated to the Fed board in May this year by US President Barack Obama. Raskin, the Maryland commissioner of financial

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

Register for Central Banking

All fields are mandatory unless otherwise highlighted

This address will be used to create your account

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account