Basel Committee expands membership

The Basel Committee on Banking Supervision on Wednesday expanded its membership to include all G20 countries.

The committee invited Argentina, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa and Turkey, as well as Hong Kong and Singapore, to become members of the forum for cooperation on banking supervisory matters.

The governing body will be expanded to include central bank governors and heads of supervision from these new member countries. "The newly expanded membership [...] will help to more effectiv

To continue reading...