Bank of Spain to close 31 branch offices by 2004

SPAIN - The Bank of Spain has decided to close 31 of its offices in as many provinces by December 2004.

At present the Spanish central bank has 54 branch offices. The aim is to have one branch office for each autonomous region, with the exception of certain regions which will have two.

The closures have been planned for years, reports El Pais, but they were suspended ahead of the arrival of the euro. The closures will affect some 340 workers who, according to the Bank of Spain, will take early

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: