Russia and Belarus move towards single currency

The Russian Federation government has approved the draft agreement between Russia and Belarus concerning the introduction of a single currency and the establishment of a single centre of issue of the Union State.

It was decided that the Russian rouble will be the single currency of the union state as of 1 January 2005, and three years later, in 2008, Russia and Belarus are expected to create a new single currency.

The governments and the central banks of the two countries are expected to form

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: