Study of asymmetric markets wins economics award

NOBEL PRIZE - Three American economists have been awarded this year's Nobel prize for their work on the advantages enjoyed by sellers over buyers in markets ranging from jobs to crops to second-hand cars.

During the 1970s George Akerlof, Michael Spence and Joseph Stiglitz developed the understanding of information asymmetries that is now a standard tool for economists seeking to explain how markets work.

Yesterday's award came as no surprise to the world of academic economists: the three were b

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: