China rolls out loss-absorbency rules for systemic banks

pboc building

China will require its four global systemically important banks (G-Sibs) to follow the stricter capital adequacy requirements laid out in the wake of the 2008 financial crisis.

Top policy-makers decided to roll out minimum requirements for total loss-absorbing capacity (TLAC), a standard finalised by the Financial Stability Board in 2015. TLAC comprises capital and debt securities that can be bailed in if the bank enters resolution.

Three top financial agencies – the People’s Bank of China

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: