ECB extends non-eurozone euro swap lines

Credit facilities set up at start of Covid-19 crisis will now run until March 2022, ECB says

Euro sign, Frankfurt

The European Central Bank has extended the euro liquidity lines it set up last year for seven non-eurozone central banks, it said today (February 4).

The ECB’s swap lines with the central banks of Albania, Croatia, Hungary, North Macedonia, Romania, San Marino and Serbia have been extended by nine months. They were originally set to expire in June 2021, but will now run until March 2022.

The swap lines allow these central banks to borrow up to an agreed quantity in euros in exchange for the

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

Register for Central Banking

All fields are mandatory unless otherwise highlighted

This address will be used to create your account

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account