Argentina and Paraguay approve cross-border payments

Map of Latin America

Argentina and Paraguay’s central bank governors signed an agreement allowing cross-border payments between both countries in local currency on October 18.

The agreement between both central banks means all the members of the trading bloc Mercosur now have bilateral accords on cross-border payments. The bloc includes Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay.

The two governors signed the agreement in Washington, DC, where they were attending the International Monetary Fund’s annual meeting.


Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: