Empirical economists win Nobel Prize

Nobel prize
Photo: Flickr/Adam Baker
David Card

Three empirical economists were revealed today (October 11) as the joint winners of this year’s Nobel Prize for Economics.

David Card won the prize for “new insights about the labour market”, while Josh Angrist and Guido Imbens were recognised for their investigation of “cause and effect” using natural experiments.

“Their approach has spread to other fields and revolutionised empirical research,” the Nobel Prize committee said of the three winners.

Josh Angrist

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact info@centralbanking.com or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.centralbanking.com/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact info@centralbanking.com to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: