IMF calls on East African Community to explore risk-sharing

Zanzibar coastline

The early discussion of risk-sharing mechanisms is "critical" for the members of the East African Community (EAC) as they seek to build a monetary union by 2024, according to staff in the African Department of the IMF.

Differences between the economies of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda "remain large" the staff say, in a paper released on July 20, while they remain susceptible to country-specific shocks.

When the countries enter into a monetary union they will lose control of their n

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: