Some EU countries unable to punish Emir breaches

EU flag

At least five countries were unable to enforce European Market Infrastructure Regulation (Emir) reporting rules when they were introduced in February, and two of these – Poland and Ireland – still cannot fine companies that breach the regulations, Central Banking sister title has learned.

Other countries have updated their rules to allow sanctions to be handed out – Spain did so on June 27 – but non-financial firms that did not comply up to that point are expected to escape punishment.

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: