Australia shuffles top managers but governor Stevens stays on

Wayne Swan, the Australian treasurer and deputy prime minister, today unveiled wide-ranging appointments to top management positions at the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) and the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (Apra).

Glenn Stevens was re-appointed as governor of the RBA. His initial seven-year term was due to expire in September, but he was today granted an additional three years at the head of the central bank. The Reserve Bank Act allows the treasurer to specify the governor's

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

Register for Central Banking

All fields are mandatory unless otherwise highlighted

This address will be used to create your account

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account