Committee admits 40% of countries will miss Basel III deadline

Photo by David Lundberg

The Basel Committee on Banking Supervision has released a final list of countries that will not meet the deadline of January 1, 2013 for the introduction of capital requirements under the Basel III framework.

Eight of the 19 jurisdictions covered by the Basel III framework are set to miss the deadline. Argentina, Brazil, the European Union (EU), Indonesia, Korea, Russia and the US all have draft legislation in place but will not have implemented final rules by January 1. Turkey is even further b

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: