Bank of Japan nominates new stand-in chairman


The Bank of Japan today (July 27) nominated Ryuzo Miyao, a member of the central bank's policy board, to act as chairman if the governor, Masaaki Shirakawa, and the two deputy governors, Hirohide Yamaguchi and Kiyohiko Nishimura, are "prevented from attending to their duties".

Despite the appointment, a spokesperson for the central bank said no stand-in chairman has ever had to take over as chair of a meeting.

Miyao replaces the previous stand-in chairman, Seiji Nakamura, who was given the role

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: