EU confirms Slovenia's 2007 euro entry

EU leaders ended their spring summit Friday 16 June by welcoming Slovenia as the 13th member of the euro single currency.

Slovenia will adopt the euro on 1 January 2007. But the leaders said Lithuania will be left out for now, citing its high inflation.

"Slovenia was allowed into the euro zone," Austrian Chancellor Wolfgang Schuessel said at the conclusion of a two-day summit in Brussels.

"It's an important symbol because for the very first time, a new member state will be joining the euro zone,

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: