Myanmar moves central bank headquarters

The Central Bank of Myanmar on 5 June moved its headquarters to Naypyidaw, the new administrative capital, The Myanmar Times reported.

A total of 216 central bank staff members moved from Rangoon to Naypyidaw on 3 June and were scheduled to resume operations this week, the report said.

The central bank serves as the regulatory authority for a range of financial institutions, including the Myanma Foreign Trade Bank (MFTB) and the Myanma Investment and Commercial Bank (MICB).