Central Banking

ACU calls for new members

The Asian Clearing Union (ACU) concluded its two-day technical committee meeting Wednesday 19 July calling for the admission of countries beyond the ESCAP Asia/Pacific region.

The ACU is an arrangement between Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Iran, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka to settle payments for intra-regional transactions among participating central banks.

The ACU is headquartered in Tehran and began its operations in November 1975.

"Our focus may be on Middle East countries including t