ECB welcomes the new EU Member States

On 1 May the European Union will have ten new Member States, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Slovenia and Slovakia. In a press release Friday, Jean-Claude Trichet welcomed the ten saying "We look forward to enhancing our dialogue and cooperation with the new members."

On behalf of the Governing Council, Mr Jean-Claude Trichet, President of the European Central Bank (ECB), said: "On this historic occasion, we very warmly welcome the new Member Sta