West African central bank to withdraw CFA notes

The Central Bank of West African States said it was to withdraw all CFA franc banknotes from circulation by the end of the year, in what a report said Saturday was an attempt to crack down on "dirty" money from bank robberies.

The BCEAO bank oversees the financial operations of the eight west African countries of Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo, which operate under one unified currency.

"The bank informs the public that all BCEAO notes of the '1992

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: