Banjul joins single currency

GAMBIA - The Gambia has joined five other countries in the West African sub-region in the introduction of a single currency, the West Africa Second Monetary Zone ( WAMZ).

The six countries comprising Nigeria, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone agreed in the Accra meeting of April 2000 to work towards the establishment of a central bank and the use of a common currency like the Euro or the CFA franc.

The Gambia, in its commitment to be involved in the establishment of the common central ban

To continue reading...