Central Bank of West African States to regulate national digital currency

World currencies
Both parties stress the eCFA will be compatible with all existing payment platforms

The Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO) is to regulate and distribute one of the first national digital currencies based on blockchain technology.

Dubbed the 'eCFA', the digital currency will first be rolled out in Senegal, and will circulate alongside the CFA (Communauté Financière Africaine (African Financial Community)) franc – the national and regional currency, used by 14 countries.

The development of the eCFA has been conducted by local bank Banque Régionale de Marchés (BRM) and

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact info@centralbanking.com or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.centralbanking.com/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact info@centralbanking.com to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: