Four Gulf states cut rates following Fed decision

Bahrain, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and UAE have currencies pegged to US dollar


The central banks of four Persian Gulf states cut their policy rate by 25 basis points, following a similar move by the Federal Reserve on July 31.

Bahrain, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates cut rates effective from today (August 1). All four states have currencies pegged to the US dollar and follow the Fed’s policy rate moves.

Bahrain and the UAE both cut their rates from 2.75% to 2.5%, while Saudi Arabia lowered its policy rate to 2.75%, and Qatar moved from 5% to 4.75%.


Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

Register for Central Banking

All fields are mandatory unless otherwise highlighted

This address will be used to create your account

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account