Monetary unions in the making in Africa

EAC, Ecowas and SADC can adopt practical steps learned from the EMU

There are several regional monetary unions in the making in Africa, including the East African Community (EAC), the Economic Community of West African States (Ecowas) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC). There was even talk at one point of an initiative to establish a continental African monetary union, but this plan seems to have faded away.

The three main unions proposed include a large number of African countries and hundreds of millions of people. The EAC and Ecowas appear

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

Register for Central Banking

All fields are mandatory unless otherwise highlighted

This address will be used to create your account

Most read articles loading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account