Norges Bank memo investigates structure of monetary policy committees


A staff memo published by Norges Bank in January explores the different types of committee structure used by central banks in determining monetary policy.

The authors, Norges Bank deputy governor Jan Qvigstad, Ingimundur Fridriksson and Nina Langbraaten, differentiate between collegial and individualistic committees.

Norges Bank's executive board, the authors say, is a collegial committee, where the committee takes decisions by consensus and members "collectively stand behind" those decisions.


Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account