Riksbank’s Thedéen to be next Basel Committee chair

Current chair Hernández de Cos stepping down as Bank of Spain governor in June

Erik Thedéen
Erik Thedéen

Sveriges Riksbank governor Erik Thedéen will take over as chair of the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, the committee’s oversight body said on May 13.

The Group of Governors and Heads of Supervision (GHOS) appointed Thedéen to a three-year term, starting on June 11.

The Swedish governor replaces Pablo Hernández de Cos, who has chaired the committee since 2019. Though Basel Committee chairs can serve up to two three-year terms, Hernández de Cos will step down as governor of the Bank of Spain

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact info@centralbanking.com or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.centralbanking.com/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact info@centralbanking.com to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

Register for Central Banking

All fields are mandatory unless otherwise highlighted

This address will be used to create your account

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account