South Africa reappoints Kganyago and top executives

Mampho Modise to replace Kuben Naidoo as central bank’s deputy governor

Lagarde and Kganyago
Lesetja Kganyago speaking on an IMF panel
Cliff Owen

South Africa’s president Cyril Ramaphosa on March 15 reappointed the central bank’s senior leadership, including governor Lesetja Kganyago, and named a new deputy governor. 

Kganyago, who has led the South African Reserve Bank (Sarb) for a decade, will remain in post for another five years from November. Nomfundo Tshazibana and Rashad Cassim will also serve additional five-year terms as deputy governors.

Ramaphosa appointed a new deputy governor, Mampho Modise, to take over from Kuben Naidoo, who

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

Register for Central Banking

All fields are mandatory unless otherwise highlighted

This address will be used to create your account

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account