People: CBSL gains board members; RBNZ forms new department


Sri Lanka: The Sri Lankan parliament has appointed Rani Jayamaha and Samantha Kumarasinghe to the central bank’s monetary policy board, it announced on June 25.

Jayamaha and Kumarasinghe are replacing outgoing board members Nihal Fonseka and Dushni Weerakoon, who resigned on May 31. The individuals appear to have been asked to resign by the government, though the reasons for this remain somewhat unclear.

Fonseka and Weerakoon were appointed to the board by the previous administration in 2016

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: