South African president reappoints Sarb governor

Cyril Ramaphosa
Cyril Ramaphosa
Government of South Africa

South African president Cyril Ramaphosa appointed Lesetja Kganyago to a second five-year term as governor of the South African Reserve Bank on July 10.

Ramaphosa’s support for governor Lesetja Kganyago comes weeks after members of his party, the African National Congress (ANC), attempted to change the Sarb’s mandate – a measure Kganyago has opposed. The president also appointed two new deputy governors.

In March, Kganyago criticised the ANC’s pledge ahead of the May elections to expand the

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account