Central Banking

Malaysia announces circulation date for new banknotes


Bank Negara Malaysia today (April 12) declared the country's new banknote series would enter circulation on July 16, 2012.

The announcement gives an end date to the lengthy process of overhauling the notes, the designs for which were revealed in December 2011.

The new coins from the currency series began appearing in circulation from January 16, 2012.

The new banknote series comprises the denominations: 1, 5, 10, 20 and 100 ringgits. The current 50 ringgit banknote has been issued since

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.centralbanking.com/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: