Former Fed chairs join over 3,000 economists in call for carbon tax


A group of well over 3,000 economists including four former chairs of the Federal Reserve and several Nobel laureates has called on the US government to implement a carbon tax in a bid to halt rising global temperatures.

Janet Yellen, Ben Bernanke, Alan Greenspan and Paul Volcker all signed the document, alongside 27 Nobel laureate economists, 15 former chairs of the US Council of Economic Advisers, and two former Treasury secretaries.

The call for action on climate change is the largest ever

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: