Reserve Bank of Vanuatu

Brief History

Established on 18 December 1980 under Central Bank Act N°.3, 1980. On 1 January 1981 it took over functions of Institut d’Emission d’Outre Mer, and is responsible for issuing currency. It advises government and promotes monetary stability.


Simeon Malachi Athy
Terms of appointment: 5 years; first term began on 1 December 2013; appointed by the Prime Minister.

Deputy Governor

Letlet August

Board of Directors

Simeon Malachi Athy
Letlet August
Marakon Alilee

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: