National Reserve Bank of Tonga

Brief History

Commenced operations on 1 July 1989.


Sione Ngongo Kioa
E: [email protected]
Terms of appointment: 5 years; term began August 2013;
appointed by the Privy Council.

Deputy Governor

Jessie Cocker (Ms)
E: [email protected]

Board of Directors

Richard Prema (Deputy Chairman)
Sinai Tu’itahi (Director)
Joyce Mafi (Mrs) (Director)
Balwyn Fa’otusia (Mrs) (Director)
Dr Sione Ngongo Kioa (Governor)

Assistant Governors

Lata Tangimana (Assistant Governor) (Operation) E

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: