Bank of Tanzania

Bank of Tanzania
Brief History

The Bank of Tanzania is the Central Bank of the United Republic of Tanzania established by the Bank of Tanzania Act of 1965 and became operational on 14 June 1966.
Various amendments to the Bank of Tanzania Act have been done resulting in amended acts in 1978, 1995 and 2006. Currently, the Bank of Tanzania operates under the Bank of Tanzania Act 2006.
The primary objective of the bank is to formulate, define and implement monetary policy directed to the economic objective of

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account