Bank of Spain

Photo of the Bank of Spain

(Banco de España)
Alcala, 48
28014 Madrid

Cable Banespana
Telex 46585 espab e
Telephone +34 91 338 5000 
Fax +34 91 531 0059 
Office Hours 0800-1700

Brief History

Established in 1829 as the Bank of San Fernando. Initially, the bank only enjoyed privileges in Madrid or where it had branches. The Act of 1856 extended the bank’s privileges to all parts of Spain. A further Act in 1874 gave the bank exclusive right to issue notes and all the existing provincial banks of issue

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: