Monetary Authority of Singapore

Brief History

The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) is the central bank of Singapore. Established under the Monetary Authority of Singapore Act in 1970, it commenced operations on 1 January 1971.


Tharman Shanmugaratnam
Terms of appointment: 3 years; first term began in 21 May 2011; appointed by the President on the recommendation of the cabinet.

Board of Directors

Tharman Shanmugaratnam (Chairman)
Lim Hng Kiang (Deputy Chairman)
Heng Swee Keat
Ong Ye Kung
Quek See Tiat

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: