Bank of Sierra Leone

Brief History

Established in 1963 under Sierra Leone Bank Act, 1963. Opened on 4 August 1964. Took over activities of the West African Currency Board.


Kelfala M. Kallon
Terms of appointment: 5 years; term began 15 August 2018; appointed by the head of state.

Deputy Governors

Ibrahim L. Stevens (First Deputy Governor)
Term began in July 2014; appointed by the head of state
Sheikh Alhaji Yayah Sesay (Second Deputy Governor)
Term began in June 2020.
Terms of appointment of Deputy

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: