Norges Bank

Norges Bank HQ, Oslo
Photo: Espen Schive
Brief History

Established on 14 June 1816. The central bank is wholly owned by the state.


Ida Wolden Bache (Ms) (Interim)

Deputy Governor and Second Deputy Chair of the Executive Board

Ida Wolden Bache (Ms)
Terms of appointment: 6 years; term began on 1 April 2020; appointed by the government.

Executive Board

Øystein Olsen (Governor and Chairman)
Øystein Børsum (Deputy Governor and First Deputy Chair)
Ida Wolden Bache (Ms) (Deputy Governor and Second Deputy Chair)
Arne Hyttnes

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: