Central Bank of Myanmar

Central Bank of Myanmar
Brief History

Established on 1 October 1947, started business on 3 February 1948, and was reorganised in 1967 as the People’s Bank of Union of Burma. Reorganised as Union of Burma Bank in April 1976. It was reconstituted as the Central Bank of Myanmar in 1990. The bank regulation department was established on 1 January 2001. The headquarters of the Central Bank of Myanmar moved to Nay Pyi Taw in 2006.


U Than Nyein
T: +95 67 418227 / 418662 F: +95 67 418290
Terms of appointment: term

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact info@centralbanking.com or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.centralbanking.com/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact info@centralbanking.com to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account