Reserve Bank of Malawi

Brief History

Set up under the constitution and established by act of Parliament 23 July 1964 in succession to the Nyasaland branch of the Federal Central Bank of the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland (now Zambia, Zimbabwe and Malawi).

Governor and Chairman of the Board

Wilson T. Banda
Terms of appointment: 5 years, renewable; first term began in July 2020; appointed by the President.
Concurrently chairman of the Board by virtue of section II of the Reserve Bank of Malawi Act (1989).

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account