Central Bank of Luxembourg

Brief History

The Central Bank of Luxembourg was established in June 1998. The organic law was updated by the law of 23 December 1998. Since 1 January 1999, the national central bank has been an integral part of the Eurosystem, with no independent power to determine monetary policy.

Director General

Gaston Reinesch
T: +352 4774 4203/4206 F: +352 4774 4901 
E: direction_generale@bcl.lu
Terms of appointment: 6 years; renewable; term began 1 January 2013. Reappointed 1 January 2019


Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact info@centralbanking.com or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.centralbanking.com/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact info@centralbanking.com to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account