Bank of the Lao PDR

Brief History

The Bank of the Lao PDR, the current bank of issue and successor of Pathetlao Bank, which was established on 7 October 1968, took over the activities of Banque Nationale du Laos in December 1975, upon the unification and transformation of the country into the Lao People’s Democratic Republic (Lao PDR). Since the enactment of law pertaining to its creation in July 1990, the Bank of the Lao PDR has undertaken a number of normal central banking functions including currency issue

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account