Bank of Guyana

Brief History

Established under the Bank of Guyana act on 15 October 1965. The act was repealed by the Bank of Guyana Act, No. 11, 1995. On 31 December 1998, the Bank of Guyana act 1998, No. 19, was enacted and repealed the previous act. The central bank has the sole right of coin and note issue, is banker to the government and fiscal agent for the government, banker to commercial banks and supervises the licensed foreign exchange dealers.


Gobind Ganga

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account