National Bank of Ethiopia

Brief History

Established in January 1964 as the central bank of note issue.


Yinager Dessie
T: +251 115 513859 E:
Terms of appointment: indefinite term; present term began in June 2018; appointed by the Government of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia.

Vice Governors

Fikadu Digafe (Monetary Stability) (Chief Economist)
T: +251 115 513 858
Solomon Desta (Financial Stability)
T: +251 115 175 114
Eyob G. Eyesus (Corporate Services)
T: +251 115 175 128

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account