Bank of Central African States

Brief History

Established in November 1972 to take over the activities of the Banque Centrale de l’Afrique Equatoriale et du Cameroun (established in 1955) under the Conventions on Monetary Cooperation, signed by the six members states. It is a central bank with the sole right of note issue to the member states of the monetary union: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Equatorial Guinea, and Gabon. The bank’s main objective is to guarantee the stability of the currency. Its other

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account