Bangladesh Bank

Brief History

The Bangladesh Bank was established on 16 December 1971, the day the country gained independence. The Bangladesh Bank is the Central Bank of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh. The chief executive officer of the Bangladesh Bank is the governor who is appointed by the government for a fixed term of four years. The general superintendence and direction of affairs and business of the bank are entrusted to a nine-member board of directors where the governor is the chairman. The

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account